Quality over Quantity - Wes Mathews - Hard Corps Marketing Show - Episode #297

Quality over Quantity - Wes Mathews - Hard Corps Marketing Show - Episode #297

What do your lead gen efforts look like? If you’re focused on impressions instead of the number of quality leads brought in or your CPL, then you really need to hear this episode as soon as possible. This week’s special guest, Wes Mathews, is the Co-Founder of High Level Marketing, a prolific entrepreneur, and a true marketing thought-leader. Wes shared invaluable and actionable insights to help your company understand the metrics that drive leads, how entrepreneurs should approach their sales and marketing budgets, and how to scale your company using your CPL.   Busted Myths: Impressions as a metric are BS. It doesn’t matter that a million people see your ad if none of them take an action and convert. So many marketing companies sell prospects on the number of impressions they’ll get but then neglect to bring in quality leads.   Takeaways:  The way to generate quality leads is to first put in the work to really define the target audience, create a clear CTA (Call To Action), and then get that ad in front of that perfect audience. It’s crucial to know your CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) and how many leads you need so that you can work backward from there with your forecasting, budgeting, and strategizing. If you have a conversion rate of 25% and you’re paying $250 per lead, to close just one deal, the CAC is $1,000.  Measuring what each of your campaigns is actually doing will help you make sure that you are getting the most bang for every dollar from your marketing budget. It’s important to make leads feel comfortable, rather than stupid for not understanding how your company works. It’s so much better for them and your relationship with them if you actually educate them. Try allocating 10-15% of a gross sale towards sales and marketing. The rule of thumb is to keep that sales and marketing costs below 20% of a gross sale. If your customer doesn’t what they’re looking for and isn’t open to learning, you really won’t be able to add any value for them and at that stage, they’re probably not the right for you.   Quote of the Show:  “Impressions are bullshit” - Wes Mathews   Links: LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/wesleymathews/  Website: https://www.highlevelmarketing.com/about.html    Ways to Tune In: Apple Podcasts: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-hard-corps-marketing-show/id1338838763 Amazon Music/Audible: https://music.amazon.com/podcasts/37228621-2f9c-4905-a223-1844effb49dd Spotify:  https://open.spotify.com/show/1vVLpNI1LssMTiL6Kdsamn Stitcher: https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/the-hard-corps-marketing-show Google Podcasts: https://play.google.com/music/m/Im7mytmu2wa2mekhoeixlja5hpe?t=The_Hard_Corps_Marketing_Show YouTube:  The Hard Corps Marketing Show is sponsored and produced by Ringmaster, on a mission to create connections through B2B podcasts. Learn more at https://ringmaster.com/

What do your lead gen efforts look like? If you’re focused on impressions instead of the number of quality leads brought in or your CPL, then you really need to hear this episode as soon as possible. This week’s special guest, Wes Mathews, is the Co-Founder of High Level Marketing, a prolific entrepreneur, and a true marketing thought-leader. Wes shared invaluable and actionable insights to help your company understand the metrics that drive leads, how entrepreneurs should approach their sales and marketing budgets, and how to scale your company using your CPL.

 

Busted Myths:

  • Impressions as a metric are BS. It doesn’t matter that a million people see your ad if none of them take an action and convert. So many marketing companies sell prospects on the number of impressions they’ll get but then neglect to bring in quality leads.

 

Takeaways:

  •  The way to generate quality leads is to first put in the work to really define the target audience, create a clear CTA (Call To Action), and then get that ad in front of that perfect audience.
  • It’s crucial to know your CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost) and how many leads you need so that you can work backward from there with your forecasting, budgeting, and strategizing.
  • If you have a conversion rate of 25% and you’re paying $250 per lead, to close just one deal, the CAC is $1,000. 
  • Measuring what each of your campaigns is actually doing will help you make sure that you are getting the most bang for every dollar from your marketing budget.
  • It’s important to make leads feel comfortable, rather than stupid for not understanding how your company works. It’s so much better for them and your relationship with them if you actually educate them.
  • Try allocating 10-15% of a gross sale towards sales and marketing. The rule of thumb is to keep that sales and marketing costs below 20% of a gross sale.
  • If your customer doesn’t what they’re looking for and isn’t open to learning, you really won’t be able to add any value for them and at that stage, they’re probably not the right for you.

 

Quote of the Show:

  •  “Impressions are bullshit” - Wes Mathews

 

Links:

 

Ways to Tune In:


The Hard Corps Marketing Show is sponsored and produced by Ringmaster, on a mission to create connections through B2B podcasts. Learn more at https://ringmaster.com/

Creators and Guests

Casey Cheshire
Host
Casey Cheshire
CEO & Founder of Ringmaster Conversational Marketing. Casey Cheshire is a marketer, serial entrepreneur, and adventurer. He has been in EO for close to 10 years and counts his relationships as a key reason for his continued success. Casey’s passion for podcasting led to him founding Ringmaster Conversational Marketing. Ringmaster helps B2B businesses launch podcasts that drive growth and revenue. Previously, Casey founded and ran Cheshire Impact for 10 years. It became the top Salesforce Pardot marketing automation solutions partner in the world before a successful exit in 2021. He is also a US Marine Corps Veteran where he served in the Infantry and deployed to some very hot climates. In his free time, Casey likes to skydive, climb mountains, and pretend to be a hungry bear for his two kids.
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